Log in

Minnesota Public Health Association

Since 1907, MPHA has been dedicated to creating a healthier Minnesota through effective public health practice and engaged citizens. 

Health Equity Committee Meeting

  • February 15, 2024
  • 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM
  • Zoom


Registration is closed

APHA recognizes a community health worker (CHW) as a frontline public health worker who is a trusted member of and/or has an unusually close understanding of the community served. This trusting relationship enables the worker to serve as a liaison/link/intermediary between health/social services and the community to facilitate access to services and improve the quality and cultural competence of service delivery.

Please join us on February 15th, 5:30 – 7:30 pm to learn about Minnesota efforts to recognize the impact of CHWs in public health and ensure that their employers understand the services they can provide.

Speaker Bio:

Foua-Choua Khang means the weather in Hmong. She is a mother to 3 boys and have been married to her husband for 17 years. Her family has 30 plus years of residency in East St. Paul (GO EAST SIDE!) and they have fantastic neighbors. She has worked in community for over 15 years. She graduated from the University of St. Thomas with her master’s in business administration and her bachelor's degree from MetroState University in community health and program evaluation. She believes in co-creating opportunities with community to identify and find solutions to health disparities plaguing our wellness. She currently serves as a the chair of the Cultural, Ethnic, Communities, and Leadership Council (CECLC) for DHS.

More information will be available soon!

- - -

MPHA Health Equity Committee meetings are scheduled for the 3rd Thursday of the month from 5:30 – 7:30 p.m. Currently all meetings are virtual. Meetings are open to MPHA members and non-members who want to learn more and take action on advancing health equity in Minnesota. 

For more information about the Health Equity Committee,  please email and we will get back to you! The committee is co-chaired by Jaime Martinez, Erica Fishman, and Austin Wu.

Search our website!

©️ 2024 Minnesota Public Health Association 

A registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software