2012 MPHA Annual Meeting

  • September 27, 2012
  • 8:30 AM
  • September 28, 2012
  • 7:00 PM
  • Ramada Inn, Bloomington


  • Full time students currently enrolled in degree seeking programs

Registration is closed



Minnesota Public Health Association

2012 Annual Meeting

Public Health: It’s for the People by the People

September 27-28 2012

Mall of America

Ramada Inn

2300 East American Boulevard

Bloomington, Minnesota 55425



Day 1

8:00 – 9:00          

Registration and Continental Breakfast


9:00 – 10:00        Opening Session             

The State of the State and Health in Minnesota

Edward P. Ehlinger MD, MSPH Commissioner of Health MDH


10:00 -11:00        Panel Session                   

Healthy Minnesota 2020 a Statewide Health Improvement Framework

Edward P. Ehlinger MD, MSHP Commissioner of Health

Thomas Sorel MBA Commissioner of Transportation

Jeanne Ayers, MPH, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Health

Carmen Reckard, Public Health Administrator, Faribault and Martin County Public Health

11:10 – 12:00                            

Tobacco Industry 2012 The latest and Greatest Tactics

Betsy Brock, MPH, Director of Research, Association of Non-Smokers MN

12:00 – 1:30        Lunch   

MPHA History Committee Presents the Debut of the Past Presidents Video and panel discussion


Paul Terry PhD, CEO of StayWell and past MPHA President

Janny Brust MN Council of Health Plans MPHA past president

Lynn Theurer Winona County Public Health Department Director (retired)


1:40 -2:30           Plenary Session 

News from APHA  - Dr. Melvin Shipp President APHA


2:30-3:30      Plenary session 

Daren Nyquist, Senior Project Manager, Grassroots Solutions

Advocacy Training with Grassroots Solutions


3:40 – 4:30         Panel Session     

News from The State Health Improvement Program

•    Gretchen Musicant, Commissioner of Health, Minneapolis Department of Health and Family Support
•    Gina Nolte, Director of PartnerSHIP4Health, Clay-Wilkin-Ottertail-Becker counties’ SHIP Grant
•    Chera Sevcik, Supervisor, Jackson-Cottonwood, Faribault-Martin-Watonwan counties’ SHIP Grant

Moderator:Allison Heinzeller MDH 


4:45 – 6:30        

MPHA Social Gathering – refreshments will be served


Day 2

8:00 – 9:00         Registration  and Continental Breakfast


9:00 – 10:30       Plenary Session 

Katherine Lust PhD. Associate Adjunct Faculty, School of Public Health, University of Minnesota

Sexual Orientation and Health -Gay Lesbian and Bisexual  College students and Health Disparities –

The first release of data related to this population and discussion


10:45 – 12:00   

Alcohol 2012 in Minnesota

Jay Jaffee Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Prevention Coordinator Minnesota Department of Health


12:00-1:30          Lunch    

MPHA –the coming year, Resolution voting, Award presentations


1:40- 2:30           Plenary Session 

Future directions in Public Health featuring John Finnegan, Dean of the School of Public Health, University of Minnesota


3:00 -6:30           Special Event      

Healthy Minnesota: “Communities in Action” Featuring: Vice Admiral Regina Benjamin, Surgeon General of the United States, Edward P. Ehlinger, Commissioner of Health, Dave Durenberger St. Thomas' Senior Health Policy Fellow, former U.S. Senator

 © 2020 Minnesota Public Health Association 
| A registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.                 Privacy  |  Policies
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software