The MPHA awards are a great opportunity to acknowledge the commitment and contributions of public health colleagues. Please consider submitting nominations for any or all of the awards throughout the year. 

This year's winners, listed below, were awarded at the 2021 Annual Business Meeting, held virtually on Tuesday, June 15, 3:30 - 4:30 pm. 


Questions? Please email MPHA Leadership Committee.


MPHA has established a number of awards to recognize individuals for contributions to and accomplishments in public health.  Nominations are solicited annually by the Leadership Committee and the awards are announced at the annual meeting.  The awards are:


  • The Albert Justus Chesley Award honors an individual who has “distinguished themselves in the field of public health and who (have), through (their) membership, made a definite contribution to the Minnesota Public Health Association.”
  • The B. Robert Lewis Award is presented to "an Elected Official who has distinguished themselves in aggressive pursuit to establish and maintain health as a human right and to secure optimal community and personal health."
  • The Paul and Sheila Wellstone Public Health Achievement Award honors “an individual who has distinguished themselves in public health through an outstanding contribution… to promote and protect the health of individuals, families and the community… (and) leadership as demonstrated by the impact of on other’s careers or having made a contribution that reflects innovation, creativity or a courageous pioneering effort consistent with professional excellence and public service.”

Congratulations to the 2021 MPHA Award Winners!

Albert Justus Chesley Award: Annie Halland, County Manager, UCare

B. Robert Lewis AwardTim Walz, Governor of Minnesota

Harvey G. Rogers Environmental Health Leadership Award: Amira Adawe, Executive Director, Beautywell Project

The Paul & Sheila Wellstone Public Health Achievement Award: Jackie Dionne, Director, American Indian Health, Minnesota Department of Health

Student Achievement Award: Delaine Anderson, University of Minnesota, School of Public Health

 © 2021 Minnesota Public Health Association 
| A registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.                 Privacy  |  Policies
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software